Morocco:Medinas and MacDo’

After two days in Rabat, I’m still trying to get accustomed to the mixture of “modernity” and history that the city presents simultaneously. In Agdal for example, there’s a McDonald’s and KFC blocks away from the Medina and structures that are hundreds of years old.

The past few days have been truly humbling because I’ve really had to check my assumptions about what it means to be Moroccan and Moroccans live. Somewhere between walking into my host family’s goregous apartment and watching their four year old son play on his iPad while I struggled to log onto the wifi I realized that this trip was not going to be what I expect. I don’t think this experience is going to be any less wonderful, just different

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

