Rabat: a collection of the modern and traditonal

From what I have seen so far, Morocco is almost nothing like what I expected. While the old Medina has a very traditional feel, the new city of Rabat is far more modern than what I expected. We have learned quickly that the easiest way to get to school is to tell the taxi driver to take us to Macdonald’s, a place all inhabitants of Rabat seem to know. The streets in Agdal are lined with many westernized clothing stores and restaurants. It seems as though to experience the Morocco that I learned about beforehand, I’ll have to untangle the many modern aspects from the unique Islamic culture that I’m curious to learn about. Although I have been very surprised by the city so far, Rabat has proven to be very unique and interesting. Looking forward to experiencing more of what this city has to offer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

