Food, food, food.

I think in the last five days I have tried more new foods than I have in the past five years. I grew up with my mom working a lot and late so we would eat a lot of fast food and eat out a lot so she wouldn’t have to make food or have a mess, and I am also the kind of person that doesn’t have a lot of free time at home so I get food delivered or pick food up a lot a lot. Since I have been here I have made it a point to try everything at least once. In doing so I have had my first grapefruit, eggplant, zucchini, cauliflower, chickpeas and beets. Which have all been delicious at my home-stay! However, in the restaruaunts they are not always as good. I also do not eat a lot of green beans and carrots in America, however, the ones here are great. I’m not sure if all of this is because of the lack of preservatives or pesticides or if they just cook better here, but I’m afraid that I’m going to go home and nothing will be as good as it here in the way of food.

Besides the different food I’ve tried here that we have in America, I have also had the opportunity, through my host mom to try Moroccan tajine, zaluk and different kinds of jams and oils. These have also been amazing.

On a random note, I also ventured into the McDonald’s and had a Chicken Mythic, which is a Halal chicken sandwich with a completely different bun, cheese, sauce and breading than in America on any sandwich I’ve ever had there and it was much better than ours back home.

I’m looking forward to trying new things, and couscous tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

