Today I went to the public bath with

Today I went to the public bath with my host mother and sister.  I have always had this expectation that the public bath would be like an upper-class salon, however, those expectations quickly fell upon arrival. When we first arrived we had to strip down to nothing but our underwear, which was slightly awkward since we were with our host family. In the public bath there are three sections, one cold room, the other hot and the last steaming. In the bath all the women just sit on the tile floor and dump buckets of water on each other. At first I was feeling uncomfortable in that environment, which only increased when the spa package I paid for included a spa worker literally bathing me. Although I felt awkward at first it turn out to be one of the best and funniest experiences I had in Morocco. I would suggest that everyone experience the public bath.  

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

