A Traveller’s Problem

Today we are in Zawiya Ahansal – a remote village cluster located in the High Atlas Mountains of Morocco. I didn’t expect this place to have much. Electricity, water, food, and even the internet was what I thought a scarce resource. At least at the Sheikh’s house, we have access to electricity, filtered water, and an abundance of food. One thing we do not have access to was the internet — well, for Inwui customers at least.

IMG_0713.jpgDisconnecting from the world was something I was not ready to do. I’m so used to being connected 24/7 that I couldn’t imagine not keeping up. I had no choice really. Isn’t it every traveller’s dream to disconnect and be free? I thought I’d give it a try and see how it worked out. Before I disconnected though, Hassan, an English studies graduate, Zawiya Ahansal native, and one of our translators, had offered me his WiFi hotspot so I can send a quick email out and tell my parents of the internet situation over here. I quickly informed them and my closest friends and two minutes later, I was finished.

For the next 100 hours, I will be internet free. Disconnected from the modern world. It was a nice experience though. The stress associated with not seeing your notifications stresses me out but I slowly let go and was in paradise. It was difficult at first but I learned that disconnecting was for the better. It helped me experience my adventure of Zawiya even more. Disconnecting from the world was an enjoyable experience… something I’m looking forward to doing again.

The next time I come to Morocco, Zawiya Ahansal will most definitely be on my bucket list.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

